Awake With Anticipation: ‘Twas the Night Before Kickoff

It’s almost 1:30 am. I feel like a kid on Christmas morning. I can’t sleep. I can’t eat. I can’t focus on studing my Organic Chemistry book. I can’t do anything other than focus on the upcoming NFL season. Sure, the Cowboys and Giants already played on Wednesday, but I don’t really consider that the grand opening. That’s like comparing the peanuts at Logan’s Roadhouse to the main course steak dinner. It just isn’t the same thing.

On Sunday afternoon, there will be wall to wall football. 13 NFL games will be played on Sunday, including various local teams such as the Cincinnati Bengals, Indianapolis Colts, St. Louis Rams, and Tennessee Titans. Still no professional Louisville teams, unfortunately…

Anyways, even if you aren’t a football fan, I’m sure you have an obsession that keeps you up at night.

Most people do.

Perhaps you were giddy all day Saturday because the new episode of Doctor Who was going to be on at 8 PM EST with “Dinosaurs on a Spaceship” and Queen Nefertiti? That sounds exciting. Maybe you were all hot and bothered by the Republican or Democratic National Conventions. Maybe there was a wicked sale on shirts at the mall and you couldn’t wait to save a bunch of money in the morning when the store opened…

Whatever the situation of your fandom is, you know where I’m coming from. There are certain days that are sacred. These days cause you to lose sleep because you are so excited and your brain cant slow down to the proper frequency that allows you to sleep.

So, why am I writing this, right now? Well, for one, I can’t focus on anything else and I figure that defacing a classic poem would be something better than laying in bed and staring at the ceiling. Here it goes:

 

Twas the night before kickoff, and all through the land,
Fans yearn for pro football, it’s almost “demand”.
The jerseys were hung in the closets with care,
In hopes that the wrinkles would no longer be there.

The fans were now nestled, all snug in their beds,
With visions of touchdown dances stuck in their heads.
So coach with his visor and I in my jersey,
Would see twice, tomorrow, a cheerleader courtsey.

 

That’s all for now. I hope you enjoyed my smattering of the classic poem “Twas the Night Before Christmas”. Whatever team you are cheering for tomorrow, I hope they find success… unless you’re a Steelers fan, in which case I would say GO BRONCOS!

If you’re not a football fan and happen to be up late on Saturday night in anticipation of something, I hope that it finds you joy… whatever it is.

Happy NFL Season, everyone… Or happy September 9th to all you non-football fans, out there.

Note: I try to remain politically correct for religious holidays and various sports holidays. You’re welcome.

2 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Cards Eye View and commented:
    Apologies To Santa.

  2. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how
    to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that
    creates high quality, SEO friendly articles in minutes, just search in google – masagaltas free content

Leave a Reply

